Individual Option Ensuring Quality Care (EQC) Course
This is an individual, flexible and fully-online EQC course option. Please see below for the steps to register.
This flexible course is offered fully online. Prior experience with online learning and good computer skills are strongly recommended. Email firstname.lastname@example.org with questions. See below for the registration process.
The complete EQC course (Essentials plus Administration) is required for all future licensees, co-licensees and administrators. EQC Essentials only is required for all future resident managers and shift caregivers.
EQC Essentials is approximately 30 hours and AFH Administration is an additional 18 hours.
Must pass a proctored exam (one for Essentials and one for Administration) with a score of at least 80%.
The cost of the individual option complete EQC course - Essentials plus AFH Administration - is $720. The Essentials only option is $520. Both fees include the State exams.
Please review the self-assessment questions below before completing the form. Can you answer "yes" to all the options below?
Computer skills: I have good computer skills and I can navigate the internet, upload and download files, and can perform basic tasks on my own.
Online learning experience: I have taken an online training or class before (if no online learning experience - must have strong computer skills).
Technology: I have access to adequate technology for a fully online class, including high-speed internet, a laptop, desktop, or tablet, and a webcam (note: phones cannot be used for this course).
Time management: I have very good time-management skills and can prioritize this course, create a schedule for myself, and stay focused to complete the course.
After you have reviewed the self-assessment questions above, please click below to complete the interest form.
Click below to register for an upcoming individual option EQC prep. session.
Alyssa Elting McGuire, MA, MPA
Starting April 2021, Ensuring Quality Care (EQC) is a two-part training required by the State of Oregon for all prospective adult foster home licensees, administrators, resident managers, floating resident managers, and shift caregivers looking to open or work in a home licensed through Aging & People with Disabilities (APD). Prospective licensees, resident managers, and shift caregivers are required to complete the course, in full, and pass the EQC exams for both Essentials and AFH Administration.
This is an on-demand course and has a flexible start date. Students have access for up to 30 days to complete Essentials and an additional 30 days to complete Administration.
We want to help you become or stay in compliance, so we offer the individual option EQC course that is flexible with a rolling start date. This is not an "urgent" course, but students do have the option to complete the individual course in less time than our regular group courses.
Yes, Ensuring Quality Care is taught by State-certified instructors, and completion of the course and exam is recognized by all counties in Oregon. Multnomah County has additional requirements, so contact Multnomah County licensing at 503-988-3000 for more information.
We strongly encourage you to take the required Adult Foster Home Orientation prior to taking EQC. Orientation is offered through your local licensing office. You will take the orientation through the county in which you will be opening your home or becoming a resident manager. Some local licensing offices have different expectations regarding orientation and EQC, so please contact your local licensing office to get clarification on their requirements.
Both the course and exam are required for licensing. You can only take the EQC exam if you have successfully completed an EQC course within the past 90 days of the exam date.
Fortunately, our students have a very high pass rate. In our last three classes, 90% of the students who took the exam with us passed, and our median student score is 91%. We work with you throughout the course to review the material and answer questions to make sure you know the content well. If you do not pass the exam on the first attempt, you have up to 90 days to re-take the exam. If you do not pass a second time, you will be required to re-take the course.