Urgent-Private EQC Essentials

This flexible course is offered fully online. It is available in urgent situations only. Email EQC.Class@gmail.com with questions about registration. See www.OregonEQC.com for our regular course.

  • EQC Essentials only is required for all future resident managers and shift caregivers

  • Approximately 30 hours

  • Must pass a proctored exam with a score of at least 80%

  • Students can have access to course materials and the online classroom for a limited time even after they complete the course

  • Cost of $499 includes the EQC Essentials course and an individually-proctored State exam (note: full urgent course - Essentials plus AFH Administration - is $699)

What our students are saying

Best Fast Track EQC Class

Shilo M. - October 2020 urgent EQC student

I really appreciate all the help you have given me…from start to finish in regards to taking the online EQC class. You were there 100% and met all my needs as required by the State in order to obtain my certification. Thank you!

Excellent Course

April 2021 EQC Essentials Student

Excellent course and excellent instructors.

Great learning experience

April 2019 EQC Student

It was a great learning experience. I will definitely recommend for whoever is looking to take this class.

Meet the Instructors

Lead Instructor

Alyssa Elting McGuire, MA, MPA

Alyssa's passion is helping adult care home staff connect their learning to real world experiences. Alyssa is the consulting and training director for Oregon Care Home Consulting & Training, which she founded in 2018. She is a former lead adult foster home licensor for Washington and Columbia Counties and spent eight years working in adult foster homes in both a regulatory and protective services capacity with the State of Oregon. Alyssa also worked as a program manager for the Alzheimer's Association Oregon & SW Washington Chapter, where she facilitated dementia training around the state. Alyssa holds a graduate degree in public administration & management from the University of Nebraska, and a graduate degree in educational leadership (adult education & training) from Portland State. Additionally, she has a gerontology-focused certificate of completion from the Univ. of Southern California. She is a State-certified Ensuring Quality Care (EQC) instructor.

FAQ

  • What is Ensuring Quality Care (EQC)?

    Starting April 2021, Ensuring Quality Care (EQC) will be a two-part training required by the State of Oregon for all prospective adult foster home licensees, administrators, resident managers, floating resident managers, and shift caregivers looking to open or work in a home licensed through Aging & People with Disabilities (APD). Prospective licensees, resident managers, and shift caregivers are required to complete the course, in full, and pass the EQC exam for parts 1 and 2.

  • When does the course start?

    This is an on-demand course and has a flexible start date. It is available only for urgent resident manager or shift caregiver training.

  • I have an urgent need for EQC, can you help me?

    We want to help you become or stay in compliance, so we will soon be offering Part 1: EQC Essentials an urgent, online EQC option outside our regularly-scheduled course. Please contact us at EQC.Class@gmail.com regarding urgent requests.

  • Is your course recognized by all counties in the state of Oregon?

    Yes, Ensuring Quality Care is taught by State-certified instructors, and completion of the course and exam is recognized by all counties in Oregon. Multnomah County has additional requirements, so contact Multnomah County licensing at 503-988-3000 for more information.

  • Do I need to take the required Adult Foster Home Orientation before I take EQC?

    We strongly encourage you to take the required Adult Foster Home Orientation prior to taking EQC. Orientation is offered through your local licensing office. You will take the orientation through the county in which you will be opening your home or becoming a resident manager. Some local licensing offices have different expectations regarding orientation and EQC, so please contact your local licensing office to get clarification on their requirements.

  • Can I take just the EQC exam?

    Both the course and exam are required for licensing. You can only take the EQC exam if you have successfully completed an EQC course within the past 90 days of the exam date.

  • What if I don't pass the EQC exam?

    Fortunately, our students have a very high pass rate. In our last three classes, 90% of the students who took the exam with us passed, and our median student score is 91%. We work with you throughout the course to review the material and answer questions to make sure you know the content well. If you do not pass the exam on the first attempt, you have up to 90 days to re-take the exam. If you do not pass a second time, you will be required to re-take the course.